Athletic Department Honors Student-Athletes

Athletic Department Honors Student-Athletes

OCALA- The College of Central Florida athletic department held its annual awards banquet last Wednesday night and honored numerous student-athletes and contributors.

Topping the list of award winners was Quira Demery, who won the Dr. James Harvey Achievement Award.

Demery, a standout in women's basketball, helped CF reach the postseason in women's basketball for the first time in four years and was a standout student athlete for the Patriots.

Earning CF's Male Athlete of the Year was David Lebron (baseball), while Holly McKinnon (softball) and Julymar Otero (volleyball) shared the female AOY honor. 

In terms of academic excellence, Ben Ellzey (baseball) earned CF's Male Academic Athlete of the Year, while Amanda Saunders (volleyball) took home CF's Female Academic top spot.

CF also honored Insignt Credit Union with the Patriot Appreciation Award and Marjorie McGee with the Charles R. Dassance Athletic Award of Excellence.

Each individual sport also gave out awards. 

For volleyball, Marina Adami (Patriot Award), Otero (MVP) and 352 Volleyball (Appreciation Award) were honored. 

Men's basketball honored Miguel Cartagena-Reyes (Patriot Award), Terrell Rogers (MVP) and Steve Forrest of Bagelicious (Appreciation Award).

Women's basketball honorees included Brittany Grant (Patriot Award), Thais Oliveira (MVP) and Dr. Kimberly-Hannah Jones (Apperciation Award).  

In baseball, Colby Brown (Patriot Award), Lebron (MVP) and Jason Russ of C&S Roofting (Apperciation Award) were cited for their accomplishments, while softball honored Eryn Chester (Patriot Award) and Lindsay O'Steen (MVP).