Barlow, Pearson headline athletic awards banquet

Barlow, Pearson headline athletic awards banquet


OCALA--It was a great night of celebration at the 2017 CF Athletic Awards Banquet as we recognized many student-athletes for their achievements on and off the athletic courts and fields during the 2016-17 athletic year.

The program's top overall athletic honors, Female and Male Athlete of the Year,were awarded to Brooke Barlow (Softball) and  Nate Pearson (Baseball).

Barlow will go down as CF's career RBI record holder, driving in 163 runs over her two-year career. The NJCAA All-American is a two-time Mid-Florida Conference First Team All-Conference and FCSAA All-State honoree and is only the third player in Region 8 history to drive in 100 or more runs in a single season (107). As a freshman, Balrow led the state in home runs (19) and RBIS (107), while also having a Top 5 batting average. To date, the UCF committ has batted a career .457 with 163 RBIs, 126 runs scored and 28 home runs. 

Pearson, a transfer from Florida International University, was named the top JUCO pitcher by Perfect Game at the start of the season. He led the state and nation in total strikeouts for most of the season, now ranking Top 3 overall with 118 strike outs in 81 innings pitched. Pearson collected a 5-2 on the year with 1.56 ERA, 0.85 ERA in conference, and held opponents to a dismal .194 at the plate. Earlier this season, Pearson earned state and national player of the week honors for his complete-game shutout versus conference rival Seminole in which he allowed just two hits and struck out 10. The LSU committ will leave CF with the second best ERA in program history and is expected to be taken in one of the first few rounds of the 2017 MLB draft.

The program's top female, academic honor, Female Academic Athlete of the Year, was awarded to Licie Leite (Voleyball) for her perfect 4.0 GPA over the past two years. The distinguished James D. Harvey Award was given to Claudia Jones (Softball) for her all-around dedication to her sport, academics and the community, and Dean of Enrollment Services Lyn Powell was awarded the Charles Dassance Award for all she has done to help our student-athletes.

Other awards handed out include the Patriot Award and Team MVP, each selected and given out by the sport's head coach.

Patriot Award: Will Reddick (Baseball), Destinee Lizzmore (Softball), Charlisa Daniels (Women's Basketball), Licie Leita (Volleyball), and Vasile Odagui (Men's Basketball).

Team MVP: David Flores (Baseball), Kelsee Cullop (Softball), Amanda Melosky (Women's Basketball), Nathaly Alvarez (Volleyball), and Malik Dunbar (Men's Basketball).